Research Committees
RC-1: History of Sociology
         Convenor: Hemant Singh (2022-2023)
         Associate Professor
         Department of Sociology
         J,N Post Graduate College
         Barabanki , Uttar Pradesh.
         Email: iss01history20@gmail.com
         Mobile : 7007201713
 
RC-2: Studies on Family, Marriage and Kinship
Convenor: Mahesh Shukla (2020-2021, 2022-2023)
Professor of Sociology, 
Govt. TRS College of Excellence nm
Rewa – 486001,
Madhya Pradesh
E-mail: iss02familymkin20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9425184505
 
RC-3: Economy and Society
       Convener: R. Maruthakutti (2022-2023)
        Department of Sociology
        Manonmanian Sunderam University
        Tirunelveli - 627012
        Tamil Nadu
        Email: iss03economy20@gmail.com
      
 
RC-4: Migration and Diaspora Studies (2020-2021, 2022-2023)
         Convener: Muneer Illath
         Department of Sociology,
         University of Allahabad
         Email: iss04migration20@gmail.com
         Mobile :089538 43969 
 
RC-5: Sociology of Education  (2022-2023)
Convenor : PH. Mohammad 
Department of Sociology
Maulana Azad National Urdu University, Hyderabad
E-mail: iss05education20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9866399577
 
RC-6: Sociology of Religion
Convenor: Sebastian M. Michael (2022-2023)
Retired Professor of Sociology
Mumbai Univesity, Mumbai, Maharashtra
E. mail: iss06religion20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9869791848
 

RC-7: Adivasi and Tribal Studies
Convenor: Sukant K. Chaudhury  (2022-2023)Split from previously titled RC 07 'Rural, Peasant and Tribal Communities'.)
Professor of Sociology,
Department of Sociology, University of Lucknow
Lucknow - 226007 (U.P)
Mobile: 9415011894
 
RC-8: Inequalities, Stratification and Exclusion Studies
Convenor : Parvez Ahmed Abassi (2022-2023)( New name for previously titled RC 08 Social 'Stratification, Professions and Social Mobility')
Retd. ProfessorDepartment of Sociology
Veer Narmada South Gujurat University
        Surat - 395007
        Email: iss08inequality20@gmail.com
        Mobile: 9824181872
 

RC-9: Dalit Studies
Convenor: Iswar Naik  (2020-2021, 2022-2023)
Associate Professor
        Department of Sociology,  
        Kalinga Institute of Social Science,
        Bhuwasneswar, Orisa
        Mob-9583612983
 
RC-10: Gender Studies
         Convener  : Rajni Bala (2022-2023)
         Associate Professor and Head
         Department of Sociology
         Baring Union Christian College
         Batala, Gurdaspur
         Punjab - 143505
         Email:iss10gender20@gmail.com
         Mobile: 9417195262
 
RC-11: Sociology of Environment
Convenor:Amar Pal Singh  (2022-2023)
        Associate Professor
        SRM University,
        Lucknow, UP 
        Email : iss11environment20@gmail.com
        Mobile:7275320808
 
RC-12: Sociology of Health, Ageing and Well-Being 
Convenor: Mohammad Akram  (2022-2023)
Professor of Sociology,
Department of Sociology,
Aligarh Muslim University,
Aligargh - 202002
E-mail: iss12health20@gmail.com
Mobile: 94119 83487
 
RC-13: Science, Technology & Society
Convenor:  Manoj  Kumar Jena  (2022-2023)
Associate Professor,
Centre for Study of Social System,
School of Social Sciences,
Jawaharlal Nehru University,
New Delhi-110067
E-mail: iss13science20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9811446273
 
 RC-14: Globalization and Culture
Convenor: Pankaj Kumar Singh (2023-2023)
Assistant Professor and Head
Department of Sociology
Maharana Pratab Govt. PG College,
Bilsi - 243633
Uttar Pradesh
E. mail: iss14globalisation20@gmail.com
 
Mobile: 9415563355
 
RC-15: Social Transformation and Development
Convenor:Ashutosh Vyas (2020-2021, 2022-2023)
Proffesor of Sociology
         M.P Govt. P.G College
         Chittorgarh- 312002
         Rajasthan
         Email: iss15transformation20@gmail.com
         Mobile- 9414734724
 
RC-16: Work, Labour and Organization
Convener: Pranjal Sarma (2022-2023)
Professor, Department of Sociology
Dibugarh University, Assam
Mobile- 9435803047
 
 
RC-17: Sociology of Social Movements
 Convener: Rohit Jain (2020-2021, 2022-2023)
Tata Institute of Social Sciences
Solapur Campus
Solapur
Mobile: 9405247320

RC-18:Social Demography  
Convenor: Vinod Chandra (2019-2020,2021-2022)
Associate Professor
Sri J N Post Graduate College, Lucknow
E-mail:  iss18demography20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9415189200
 

RC-19: Urban Studies
Convenor: Manoj Teotia (2022-2023)
Assistant Professor
Centre for Research in Rural and Industrial Development (CRRID), 2A, Sector 19A, Chandigarh5
E. Mail:
iss19urban20@gmail.com
Mobile: 8283825534
 
RC-20: Media Studies
Convenor: Pramod Kumar Choudhary (2019-2020, 2022-2023)
Associate Professor & Head P.G.Department Of Sociology,
Magadh Univerdity Bodhgaya
Qutar No-A/4 Professor Quater.
M.U.Campus,Bodhgaya
Pin-824234
E-mail:  iss20media20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9431413815
 
RC-21: Political Sociology
         Convenor:  Bhup Singh Gaur (2022-2023)
        Dornarcharya Goverment College,
Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak
        Email: iss21political20@gmail.com
        Mobile: 9431413815
 
RC-22: Conflict and Violence Studies
Convenor (Adhoc): Sanjay Kolekar  (2022)
Department of Sociology
Savitribhai Phule Pune University,
Pune, Maharashtra 411007
E. mail: iss22conflict20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9850029079
 
RC-23: Sociology of Law, Crime and Deviance
Convenor: Rabindra Kumar Mohanty (2020-2021, 2022-2023) (Merged with RC 18 'Sociology of Crime and Deviance'.)
Professor and Head,Department of Sociology,
Mizoram University
Aizawl - 796004
E-mail: rabisir@gmail.com / iss23crime20@gmail.com
Mobile: 9437277597
 
RC-24: Sociology of Childhood and Youth
Convenor: Subhashis Bandopadhyay (2022-2023)
Professor, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
Indian Institute of Engineering, Science and Technology
Shibpur
E. Mail: iss24youth20@gmail.com
Mobile: 98369 45013 
 
RC-25: Sociology of Sports
Convenor: Ravi Prakash (2020-2021, 2022-2023)
Govt. Degree College 
Nanauta,Sharanpur - 247452
Uttar Pradesh
E. mail: iss25sports20@gmail.com
Mobile: 09412246301
 
RC-26: Minority Studies   
        Convenor : Imtiaz Ahmed Ansari (2022-2023)
        Associate Professor
        Asst. Professor-cum-Asst. Director (Sociology)         
        Jaypee Institute of Information Technology Sector -
        62 Noida (Uttar Pradesh)
        Email: iss26minority20@gmail.com
        Mobile: 9891486123
 
RC-27: Sociology of Care
Convenor: Soumyajit Patra, (2022-2023) ('Mother and Motherhood'changed name, 'Sociology of Care')
Professor
Department of Sociology
SKB University, 
West Bengal
E-mail:
iss27care20@gmail.com
Mobile: 8240014219/9474978911
 
RC-28: Sociology of Everyday Life
Convenor: Sanjay Roy  (2022-2023)
Professor
Department of Sociology
North Bengal University, 

Dist.Darjeelling 
E-mail: i iss28everydaylife20@gmail.com
Mobile:9434875610 / 9609486579 
 
NOTE:
All RC members who have current membership for 2/5 years in RCs whose names have changed are informed that they can choose to be part of their previously named RC or change to new RCs by informing the Society's office. Their membership will remain valid for the years for which they have paid their dues.

Where to Find Us

 

Follow us

facebook   google   twitter