

PRESIDENT

Sujata Patel Department of Sociology University of Hyderabad Central University P.O Hyderabad 500 046 Telengana E-mail: <u>spisspresident@gmail.com</u> Mob.9603992920

SECRETARY

Abha Chauhan Department of Sociology University of Jammu Jammu 180 006 abhasecretaryiss@gmail.com Mob. 09419797709

TREASURER

Biswajit Ghosh Iman Kalyan A-4, 1st Floor, Malir Bagan Tikorhat Burdwan-713102 West Bengal Mob: 9002769014 E-mail: bghoshbu@gmail.com

MEMBERS

Mohammad Akram, Aligarh akram_soc@yahoo.co.in Smita Suresh Awachar, Aurangabad smitaawachar@gmail.com Sukant K Chaudhury, Lucknow sukantkchaudhury@gmail.com S Gurusamy, Dindigul sellagurusamy@yahoo.co.in Paramjit Singh Judge, Amritsar paramjit.judge@gmail.com Jagan Karade, Kolhapur jagankarade@yahoo.co.in Hemixa Rao, Rajkot hemixarao@yahoo.co.in Dipti Ranjan Sahu, Lucknow ahu.dr@gmail.com Sanjay B Salunke, Aurangabad salunke.sb@rediffmail.com Pranjal Sarma, Dibrugarh armapranjal1@yahoo.co.in Satish Kumar Sharma, Chandigarh sattish00741@yahoo.com Virendra Pal Singh, Allahabad vpsissmc2009@gmail.com Antony Palackal Varghese Thiruvananthapuram antonypalackal@gmail.com Manish Kumar Verma, Lucknow mkvbbau@gmail.com

> SECRETARY (OFFICE) Krishnan Namboodiri E-mail: society@issin.org Tel: 91-011-43158830

INDIAN SOCIOLOGICAL SOCIETY

Mailing Address: Institute of Social Sciences 8 Nelson Mandela Road, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110 070 Phone: (91-11-) 43158800, 43158801 Telefax: (91-11) 43158823

Email: society@issin.org Website: www.insoso.org

October 27, 2016

Dear Colleague:

The preparations for AISC at Tezpur are in full swing. More than 700 delegates have registered and we expect to touch 1000 plus by early December.

To coincide with the AISC, we have organised Young Researchers' Workshop on *Challenges of doing Ethnography Today* on 26-27 December, 2016 where 21 doctoral students will present papers.

We have organized five Plenary/symposia on different themes at the conference whose theme is *Rethinking Sociological Traditions of India*. Professor Hiren Gohain, literary critic and social scientist of Assam, will be inaugurating the conference and Professor Mrinal Miri, philosopher, former Director, Indian Institute of Advanced Studies, ex-Chairman, Indian Council of Philosophical Research and ex-VC, NEHU will give the keynote speech.

The 2016 Lifetime Achievement Awards are being presented to Professors Patricia Uberoi and Yogesh Atal. We received 13 applications for the M.N. Srinivas Prize and this year it is being awarded jointly to Dr. Hoineilhing Sitlhou and Dr. Salah Punathil, both from the University of Hyderabad. We have also organized two new programmes at the conference: publishers will have book release and/or author meets readers' sessions and Sangeet Natak Academy and Indian Council of Cultural Relations have sponsored cultural programmes every evening. I enclose the schedule of the conference with abstracts of plenary/symposia presentations.

I have been informing you about the changes that the new team at ISS has been initiating. Our attempt has been to upgrade the Society's professional culture, democratize its activities and decrease its financial liabilities. We have a new website, membership and registration is now online, procedures for conducting RCs/ad-hoc groups, Conferences and rules for Lifetime Achievement Awards have been revised. From 2017, the Bulletin is going to be published by Sage Publications. We have revived the E-journal and appointed a new Editor, Professor Chandan Kumar Sharma. I enclose his vision statement and the format of the new E-journal. We are also in the process of upgrading the E newsletter into a news outlet. In addition, the Society hopes to introduce Writing workshops for doctoral students and disseminating information regarding academic protocols for reviewing and writing papers on the webpage.

The GBM of ISS is scheduled to be held at the Tezpur Conference on 29th December 2016 wherein we are going to discuss the changes that need to be made to the ISS Constitution in order to sync it with the changes in activities mentioned above. I enclose the proposal made and passed by the ISS Managing Committee at its meeting in June 2016 and am circulating this to you in advance as required by the Constitution. It will be discussed at the GBM on 29th December 2016. I look forward to meeting you at Tezpur.

Sincerely yours,

Sujaha Pahel

Sujata Patel