

## Indian Sociological Society

Mailing Address:

## **Institute of Social Sciences**

## 8 Nelson Mandela Road, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110 070

Phone: (91-11-) 43158800, 43158801 Telefax: (91-11) 43158823 Email: <u>society@issin.org</u> Website: www.insoso.org

#### PRESIDENT Sujata Patel

Department of Sociology University of Hyderabad Central University P.O Hyderabad 500 046 Telengana

E-mail: spisspresident@gmail.com Mob.9603992920

#### SECRETARY Abha Chauhan

Department of Sociology University of Jammu Jammu 180 006 abhasecretaryiss@gmail.com Mob. 09419797709

### TREASURER Biswajit Ghosh

Iman Kalyan A-4, 1st Floor, Malir Bagan Tikorhat Burdwan-713102 West Bengal Mob: 9002769014

E-mail: bghoshbu@gmail.com

#### **MEMBERS**

Mohammad Akram, Aligarh akram\_soc@yahoo.co.in Smita Suresh Awachar, Aurangabad smitaawachar@gmail.com Sukant K Chaudhury, Lucknow sukantkchaudhury@gmail.com S Gurusamy, Dindigul sellagurusamy@yahoo.co.in Paramjit Singh Judge, Amritsar paramjit.judge@gmail.com Jagan Karade, Kolhapur jagankarade@yahoo.co.in Hemixa Rao, Rajkot hemixarao@yahoo.co.in Dipti Ranjan Sahu, Lucknow sahu.dr@gmail.com Sanjay B Salunke, Aurangabad salunke.sb@rediffmail.com Pranjal Sarma, Dibrugarh sarmapranjal1@yahoo.co.in Satish Kumar Sharma, Chandigarh sattish00741@yahoo.com Virendra Pal Singh, Allahabad vpsissmc2009@gmail.com **Antony Palackal Varghese** Thiruvananthapuram antonypalackal@gmail.com Manish Kumar Verma, Lucknow mkvbbau@gmail.com

# SECRETARY (OFFICE) Krishnan Namboodiri

E-mail: society@issin.org
Tel: 91-011-43158830

March 23, 2017

## Dear Colleague:

The Managing Committee of the ISS met on 18th March and took some very important decisions which I write to covey to you.

As you know, since 1989 the office of the Society has been housed at the premises of the Institute of Social Sciences in New Delhi. For these last 28 years, the Institute and its staff and particularly Mr. Krishnan Namdoodiri has with meticulous attention and commitment managed all administrative and financial matters of the Society.

The MC members decided that henceforth the office of the Society be shifted to the Society's flat at Vasant Kunj whose address is: Flat No. 1046, C-I Block, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi.

The Managing Committee in its meeting recorded its deep appreciation to the Institute of Social Sciences for its invaluable contribution to the Society in its critical years of its existence in Delhi. This support, it noted has allowed the Society to grow and institutionalise itself. In this growth, the personal and professional contribution of the Institute, its staff and particularly Dr. George Mathew (a Life Member of the Society, an MC member and a Treasurer) and Mr. Krishnan Namboodiri has been extremely significant. The Managing Committee thanked the Institute and its staff for all their help and assistance to the Society.

The Society will be employing a new Office Secretary and other staff members and converting the flat into a guest house for the use of Society's Life Members who come to Delhi and need a place to stay for a few days.

However the flat needs major renovation and the Guest House will be able to start only after this takes place. Additionally, as it might take a month or two for the Office Secretary to take over the work of Society's administration, we would appreciate if you can communicate on matters regarding RCs and general queries to Abha Chauhan (abhasecretaryiss@gmail.com); membership and finance issues to Biswajit Ghosh (bghoshbu@gmail.com) and other matters to me (spisspresident@gmail.com)

The MC also took a decision to increase the publication of E-Newsletters from 2 to 3. The E-Newsletters will now be published in March, July, and November. This year the first issue will be out in April. The MC also decided to enlarge the scope of the E-Newsletter and include information regarding activities of Life Members and Departments of Sociology.

Henceforth the E-Newsletter will be include information regarding local, national and international workshops, seminars and conferences being organised by Life Members and Departments; announcements, obituaries, information regarding the achievements of the Life members of the Society, their work, publications and honours; information regarding new books and research projects taken by the members of the society. It will also publish the report of the Secretary at the AISC GBM. We hope that all of you will convey this information to the Editor so that it can be distributed and outreached to all Life members of our Society

The Secretary, Abha Chauhan (abhasecretaryiss@gmail.com) is the Editor and Antony Palackal (antonypalackal@gmail.com) is the Co-editor of the E-Newsletter. Please communicate to them any information that you wished to be published for this year's first issue by 10th April 2017. It will be incorporated in the forthcoming issue of the E-Newsletter.

The first issue of the revised E-Journal titled *Explorations* will also be released in April. The first issue of the *Sociological Bulletin* now being published by Sage will be available online on April 15 and the login and password for this issue and earlier issues will be provided to all Life Members by April 17th, 2017.

In Tezpur, the Managing Committee had set up two committees; the first was on rationalisation of the RC and Ad-hoc groups and the second on Code of Ethics. The recommendations of the first committee are being shared with the Conveners and will be discussed in the RC Conveners meeting on 21st July 2017. After these delieberations, these will be adopted and conveyed to you. The report of the committee on ISS Code of Ethics needs a larger discussion and hence I am attaching the report. It will be passed in the next AISC GBM.

I am happy to inform you that the MC has accepted the invitation of the Department of Sociology, University of Lucknow to host the 2017 AISC. This conference will be held in Lucknow from 9<sup>th</sup> to 12<sup>th</sup> November. Details regarding the conference will be put up on the website in April and registration will start in June 2017.

With best regards,

Sujaha Pahel

Sujata Patel President